PROFESSIONAL APPRAISERS ASSOCIATION OF SOUTH DAKOTA Board of Directors Meeting Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Present: Craig Steinley, Amy Frink, Ryan Mohr, Allan Hall, Jane Meekins, David Lawrence, Brian Schmidt, Randy Vance, Alan Hatzenbeller, Debbi Williams, Bonnie Oletzke, Lisa Jensen, Prentice Weaver, Kristie Hankel, and Tom Meekins.

Guests: Sherry Bren, Executive Director, SD Appraiser Certification Program.

Debbie Ellerton and Mary Houk, PAASD members.

Staff: Bev Luke, PAASD Executive Secretary

President Craig Steinley called the meeting to order at 6:45 p.m. CST at the Cedar Shore Resort in Chamberlain, SD, noting that a quorum was present.

Allan Hall moved and Randy Vance seconded the motion to approve the minutes as written from the Board Meeting of 9/29/2011. Motion carried.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

<u>Finance:</u> Secretary/Treasurer Lisa Jensen - Chair, Kristie Hankel, Amy Frink, Prentice Weaver, and Allan Hall, committee members.

Bev Luke gave the treasurer's report. The 2011 financials were reviewed. A motion to approve the financials as presented was made by Prentice Weaver and seconded by Bonnie Oletzke. Motion was approved.

The President's 2012 budget was presented. Randy Vance moved and Lisa Jensen seconded a motion to approve the 2012 budget. Motion passed.

<u>Membership Committee:</u> Debbi Williams- Chair, Bonnie Oletzke, Allan Hall, and Alan Hatzenbeller, committee members.

No Report.

<u>Education Committee:</u> Randy Vance- Chair, Brian Schmidt, David Lawrence, and Lisa Jensen, committee members.

The final income/expense reports for the Fall 2011 "Litigation Appraising: Specialized Topics and Applications" course and the November 2011 Training Course for Supervising Appraisers and State-Registered Appraisers were reviewed. A preliminary report for the 2012 Annual Meeting was given.

The Fall 2012 Conference will be held in Sioux Falls. Some discussion followed as to what class should be offered. Details of offering and date of the class will be handled by the Education Committee and Brian Schmidt.

Alan Hatzenbeller made a motion to have the 2013 2-day Annual Meeting on January 17 and 18 at Cedar Shore Resort in Chamberlain, SD. Brian Schmidt seconded the motion and all were in favor.

<u>Legislative Committee:</u> Craig Steinley – Chair, Ryan Mohr, Randy Vance, David Lawrence, Terry Leibel, and Jim Dunlap, committee members.

Craig Steinley gave an update on the Legislative Fund. Discussion followed regarding a 2012 lobbyist to represent PAASD in the 2012 legislative session. Bonnie Oletzke made a motion to hire Barry Wilfahrt at the same rate and contract terms as last year. Randy Vance seconded the motion with all in favor.

SPECIAL GUEST PRESENTATION:

At this time, the meeting was turned over to guest, Sherry Bren, Executive Director of the SD Appraiser Certification Program.

Ms. Bren reviewed the requirements of AMCs to register with the Appraiser Certification Program and the requirement for residential appraisers to be sure the AMCs they accept orders from are registered. Ms. Bren fielded questions from the Board and was thanked for attending the Board meeting and sharing the information.

<u>Public Relations:</u> Committee: Jane Meekins - Chair, Bonnie Oletzke and Prentice Weaver, committee members.

Jane Meekins passed around some examples of a new logo created by a Sioux Falls graphics firm. The Board will comment on the examples later in the meeting after all have had a chance to see them.

SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS:

<u>Website Committee:</u> Craig Steinley - Chair, Marly Konstant, Amy Frink, and David Lawrence, committee members.

Craig mentioned that the website has had an average of 40,000 hits a month – some of those hits are due to people registering for the January classes.

Some suggestions were given to make the site more helpful to the members – such as having a "Hot Board" on the home page. This area could supply a link to obtain an AMC registration number from the Appraiser Certification Board website, an explanation of the change in regulations for appraisers beginning 2015, etc.

These suggestions will be taken under advisement by the committee.

Scholarship Committee:

The Board discussed criteria, committee, and dollars to be given regarding the Scholarship Fund. *Brian Schmidt moved and Randy Vance seconded the motion to pick five individuals from the Board of Directors to establish criteria for Professional Development Scholarships. Motion passed with all in favor.* Five volunteers from the Board are: Randy Vance, Allan Hall, Lisa Jensen, Bonnie Oletzke, and Tom Meekins. Craig Steinley will be part of the committee in an ex-officio capacity.

By the June meeting, this committee will have the criteria established.

Board of Directors Meeting Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Randy Vance made a motion to add four additional PAASD scholarships to the four Denny Wagner Memorial Scholarships to be awarded for continuing education at the Annual Meeting. These scholarships are in addition to the Professional Development Scholarships to be awarded beginning in 2013 to those chosen who meet the criteria. Tom Meekins seconded the motion and the motion passed.

After having time to review the logos presented, the Board decided that the ones presented were not a good representation of PAASD and commissioned Jane to return to the graphics firm to ask them to update the current logo. The Board is looking for something "clean" and "updated".

1	\cap	П	n	R	П	ICI	IN	IFSS:
١	. ,	ш	.,	_	u		HΝ	I - 3 3 .

None

NEW BUSINESS:

President Craig Steinley opened the discussion for a slate of candidates for the coming year. He noted that four Directors are going off the Board at the end of this meeting: Allan Hall, Bonnie Oletzke, Debbi Williams, and David Lawrence. Amy Frink and Allan Hall agreed to allow their names to be submitted as the Board's nomination for another three-year term. Bonnie Oletzke and Debbi Williams have served their maximum terms and were thanked for their service. Lisa Jensen agreed to allow her name to be submitted as the Board's nomination for President-Elect. David Lawrence agreed to allow his name to be submitted as the Board's nomination for Secretary/Treasurer. Craig Steinley will automatically move to Past-President.

Bonnie Oletzke made a motion with a second from Randy Vance to submit the Board's nomination of the following slate of candidates at the Annual Meeting of PAASD on Thursday, January 19, 2012.

Brian Schmidt – President Lisa Jensen – President-Elect David Lawrence – Secretary/Treasurer Allan Hall – 3-Year Director Adam Lalim – 3-Year Director Sandra Gresh – 3-Year Director Amy Frink – 3-Year Director

Randy Vance will ask Kelsie Hughes for permission to add her name to the slate of candidates as a three-year director. With her permission, she will be nominated from the floor and added to the slate of candidates approved by the Board.

The motion passed unanimously.

There being no further business, *Randy Vance made a motion to adjourn the meeting with a second by Prentice Weaver. Motion passed*. Meeting adjourned at 9:07pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Bev Luke Executive Secretary